Bought a used Pickup

Bought an used 2000 Chevrolet Silverado Shortbed Pickup. Going though withdrawal since I had to trade in my company pickup for a sedan. Missed having a pickup!

Then of course, I had to make a few alterations. Needed new tires. Removed thin brown pin stripe on side of truck. Replace 1500 “bowtie” sticker on both doors and replaced with raised plastic emblem. Added a slimline low profile tool box. Next put black fender flares all the way around. Plus I wanted a cloth tonneau cover, but I had a tool box…so I bought a cloth tonneau kit and modified the rails and mounted the cover.  Also had to modify my the latch on the tool box because the cover and rails block the latch to open the box.

Turned out perfect. Pretty cool looking. I think I have the only pickup truck with a toolbox and tonneau cover. Check out the photos!   I think I might add a 2-inch leveling kit to the front end and maybe bedrail lights under the tonneau cover…

~ by Joe A. Robertson, P.G. on June 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
