Rhein Valley Tour

We took a boat tour of the Rhein river.  The tour lasted 5 hours,with 1 hour stop a St. Goar. The scenery was spectacular.  Along the  Rhein valley there numerous small villages at the river bank.  Large cathedrals in every village.  1000 year old castles at every turn in the river.  I must have taken 200 photos along the trip.  DSC_0105

We stopped at St. Goar, and left the boat for an hour.  Ingrid had pick up bread, sausage, and cheese before breakfast, so we packed a lunch.  We ate our lunch along the Main street in St. Goar, while watching the boats go by.  Then we strolled down the river’s edge until it was time to re-board the boat for our return trip.

When we returned to Mainz, we went to the old town and walked around for 2 hours (shopping, yeah, for gummy bears, the best ones, made in mainz, only).  Then, about 8:30pm until 10:00pm we had wine, sausage at a outdoor cafe.

This morning, is our last day for our trip, tomorrow we fly home!  We are very sad, and not ready to come home!  I thought that 3 weeks might be to long away from home, but everyone has been wonderful, we have felt so welcome in everyone’s home.  I already miss all my cousins, aunts and uncles.  We have made new friends with the host families, and feel like we have an even larger extended family now.  I am so greatful Amy, Austin, and Alex had such a nice, caring families to stay with during their time in Germany.

This will be my last blog, until we return home!  I guess I will have to change to theme of the blog.  Thanks, for all the feedback on the blog.  It’s nice to know that friends and family are following along!  Bye, for now!

~ by Joe A. Robertson, P.G. on July 2, 2009.

4 Responses to “Rhein Valley Tour”

  1. I can’t wait to see your pictures in real life!

  2. Sounds like you had such a wonderful trip! Hope you guys made it home safely tonight. Happy 4th 🙂

    • Kristi,

      THanks for following my Travel blog to Germany. Half the fun of writing a blog is reading the comments others have about what you write. The reason for the blog, at first was that my family, could follow along. I gave my blog address to alot of family and friends and it was already nice to read that somone was enjoying the trip, too. I think you commented the most. Thanks! I have bookmarked your sight, to follow your trip. Hope you have time to post, information about your trip! The best way, for me to post was, waiting until late in the evening, just before bed or early morning before/during breakfast. But, try and post something either a photo or a couple of lines. HAVE FUN WITH IT! Thanks Joe & Carla

  3. Joe and Carla,

    I am glad you enjoyed me following along on your trip as much as I did! I will be sure to post at least something every day while I am gone! Cant wait. Have a wonderful 4th. Love Kristi

Leave a Reply

 
